July 2012

Where you are originally from and/or where you live now:

I’m originally from
New York, NY and I live in Sharon now.

Month you were born in:


What days/times you typically train at VBC:

Sundays, Mondays,
Wednesdays and Fridays, but I may sneak another day in there from time to time.  Generally, I go to the 6:35pm classes.

Anything else interesting/unique about you that you’d like
to share:

I play the guitar.  I’m a pretty good cook.  I’ve been on TV briefly a couple of times, but in a post-Jersey Shore world where swamp loggers and mean children’s dance instructors get their own shows, that’s hardly worth mentioning.

In addition to being a CrossFitter, I am…

A husband, father of
two, and a lawyer.

My proudest accomplishment(s) in my training so far is/are…

Where do I start?  Just finishing the on-ramp was huge for me.  I basically had zero fitness when I started at VBC, and I feel like I’ve been breaking through a series of personal barriers ever since.  Getting through on-ramp, going to that first group class, participating in my first team workout, completing the WinterFest competition in February, participating in the 2012 CrossFit Open, going to the Ocean State Master’s Throwdown in June, cracking a sub-30 minute 5k, getting my first pull-up, being a part of the 24 hour Race Around the Lake relay team, recent PRs on deadlift and high bar back squat where I beat my old PRs by 30 and 40 lbs. respectively….These are all things I would never have dreamed of doing as recently as last October.  And getting my first handstand holds – that was a pretty awesome feeling.  I’ve also lost about 40 lbs. since I started here.  VBC has helped me come so far and do so much, it’s tough to choose, but I think my proudest accomplishment is probably my

Some current training goals and/or personal goats are…

I’d like to improve my lifting technique, and I’m always struggling with cardio, so I want to keep working on that, with an eye to maybe running a 10k in 2013.  Also, I’m still looking to get an unassisted pronated pull-up.  And I’d like to complete Karen at some point before the end of this year.  Pick almost anything we do at VBC, and I’ve probably got a goal connected to it.  I’d also like to get under 200 lbs. by the end of 2012.

What’s the best thing about Vagabond?

Coaches and community.  I’ve met so many great, supportive people at VBC, and everybody is so willing to pitch in, offer advice or encouragement, and basically push people to better themselves every day.